LOVE

AlDub pa more

My good friend Janice introduced me to Aldub. At first I found it weird to watch a noontime show again. I have to admit that it’s been a while since I did. Why? I will write about this in another time. Anyway, AlDub was so raw and innocent, a breath of fresh air in media nowadays. It starred Alden Richards, a good-looking GMA 7 star and Maine Mendoza, an internet sensation. I don’t think they need an introduction. There are 20 million tweets about them. I guess it’s safe to say that everyone knows them. 😂 To date, I have only watched four episodes of the KalyeSerye and only finished two so I can’t really say I’m a fan. But with the two I finished I am impressed by how the writers manouver the serye. It is so rare nowadays to have anything in the media that promotes purity. Wally Bayola’s persona, Lola Nidora, is my favorite. Her wisdom about love is funny yet straightforward. I wish the media creates more characters like her in their shows. So frank yet so wise. As campus ministry workers, my husband and I have encouraged teenagers to use their ‘puso at isip (heart and mind)’ when it comes to love. We have encountered so many teenagers who use their hearts alone and find themselves wrecked afterwards. Having Lola Nidora on TV to remind them about true love helps teenagers and singles alike to wait for that special one God has prepared for them. Here are my takeaways from the few episodes I watched:

lola nidora

1. “Huwag magmadali. Ang lahat ng bagay ay nasa tamang panahon.”
This almost echoes Ecclesiastes 3:1. Almost. This also reminds me of a quote from “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” by Joshua Harris. It says, “The right thing at the wrong time is the wrong thing.” Enough said.

2. “Pwedeng gamitin ang puso pero huwag kalimutan ang utak.”
Just like what the Bible said, “Guard your heart.” Don’t let your heart lead you because the heart is easily decieved (Jeremiah 17:9). We are created by God as intelligent humans who know right from wrong. Don’t let a feeling dictate your destiny. If you feel like having premarital sex, you know in your head that you can get pregnant and stop your studies, you have to make a choice. You can’t say that it just happened. You knew what you were doing. So gamitin ang utak.

3. “No touch!”
Wow! It has been a while since I heard that on TV. During #AlDubMostAwaitedDate, Lola Nidora asked Alden and Yaya to promise not to touch. It’s amazing what a No Touch Policy can do. It will help you know if it’s love or lust. If your date wants to touch you more than he or she wants to know you, the bets are sure that it’s just lust. But if he or she is willing to wait for the right time to hold you and give you a ring, then it’s love. Respect is the word. Don’t take what’s not yours to take.

The Kalyeserye is not Christian but it is lightyears away from today’s standard of love. And for me, that’s good enough. I hope we make more shows like these, that adheres to purity and true love. I still have to watch the coming episodes. And I guess I am not yet a fan but I’m about to be. 🙂

15 thoughts on “AlDub pa more”

  1. Hallelujah! God has chosen you my sister to write these words. Parents like me , i believe will have this be shared to everyone especially to my and their growing teen agers. so please allow us to have this be shared,

    Thanks and Regards,

    Tito Reggie

    Like

  2. rightly said Ma’am, Lola Nidoras character is a refreshing touch to television. the morals she implies on have long been buried, but thanks to the writers, I say the good things will always find its way to ressurection.

    Like

Leave a comment